Three days, three quotes challenge: Day Three

Today is the final day of the challenge. I was nominated by The Irish Procrastinator, whose poetry and musings are highly entertaining (so if you haven’t already done so, now would be the perfect time to pay her a little visit).

The Rulebook:

1. Thank the person who nominated you.

2. Post a quote for three consecutive days (1 quote for each day).

3. Nominate three bloggers each day.

Today’s quotes are taken from Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen.

I felt that I had no choice but to hand the final day of the challenge over to one of my literary heroes. Choosing a single quote proved to be quite impossible, however, so here are two of my all-time favourite quotes for your delectation. At the end of a very happy few days of quote-gathering, I leave you in the very capable hands of the comedy duo, Mr. and Mrs. Bennet:

Mrs. Bennet: “You take delight in vexing me. You have no compassion on my poor nerves.”

Mr. Bennet: “You mistake me, my dear. I have a high respect for your nerves. They are my old friends. I have heard you mention them with consideration these twenty years at least.”

“Indeed, Mr. Bennet,” said she, “it is very hard to think that Charlotte Lucas should ever be mistress of this house, that I should be forced to make way for her, and live to see her take my place in it!”

“My dear, do not give way to such gloomy thoughts. Let us hope for better things. Let us flatter ourselves that I may be the survivor.”

I feel very tempted to nominate myself, just to continue the fun, but I fear that may be regarded as cheating.

Instead, here are my final three nominees:

The Book Jotter

Kerry, Life and Loves

Tinsel and Treasure

As always, there is never any obligation to take part!

11 thoughts on “Three days, three quotes challenge: Day Three

  1. …and I thought you would put in the quote about poor Lizzy henceforth having to be a stranger to one of her parents, but there are so many it’s impossible to choose. I’ve not re-read P & P for several years (and clearly must do) and notice that Andrew Davis changes the words – Benjamin Whitrow says ‘I may outlive you’. Why do film makers change perfection? I’ve obviously watched the DVD too often (if that’s possible)?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad to find that I’m not totally predictable. Yes, he changed a fair few lines. I’m not sure why u less perhaps he felt that they were better suited to a modern audience (I do personally prefer Benjamin Whitrow’s take on “I might outlive you” myself, but possibly because of how he intoned it).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, never predictable. I can see that the original is possibly a little old-fashioned, but I’m sure Benjamin Whitrow could have delivered them perfectly. There will never be another Mr. Bennet like him.

        Like

What do you think?